The Road to Oklahoma City starts here.


Sherrill, Elam, Plain, Beaubien Among Senior CLASS Award Finalists

Top Stories

The 10 finalists for the 2022 Senior CLASS Award in Division I softball were announced on Thursday afternoon.

Michigan’s Meghan Beaubien, UMBC’s Courtney Coppersmith, Texas’ Hailey Dolcini, Oklahoma’s Lynnsie Elam, Marshall’s Aly Harrell, Florida’s Elizabeth Hightower, Washington’s Gabbie Plain, Saint Francis’ Mekenzie Saban, Florida State’s Sydney Sherrill and Charlotte’s Bailey Vannoy were selected as finalists for their work on and off the field.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors or graduate students and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character, and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier this season. Nationwide fan voting will help select the winner, and fans can vote online at through May 23. Fan votes will be combined with votes from the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winner.

The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced before the Women’s College World Series in early June. UCLA’s Rachel Garcia was the 2021 winner.

Softball 2022 Senior CLASS Award Finalists

Meghan BeaubienLHPMichigan
Courtney CoppersmithP/OFUMBC
Hailey DolciniRHPTexas
Lynnsie ElamCOklahoma
Aly HarrellINFMarshall
Elizabeth HightowerRHPFlorida
Gabbie PlainRHPWashington
Mekenzie SabanINFSaint Francis
Sydney SherrillUTLFlorida State
Bailey VannoyC/OFCharlotte

FILED UNDER , , , , , , , , ,