The Road to Oklahoma City starts here.


SEC Leads Inaugural Rawlings Gold Glove Awards

Top Stories

The SEC may only have one team on the field in the Women’s College World Series, but the conference led the way in the inaugural Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. Winners of the iconic defensive honors were announced Wednesday in Oklahoma City.

Florida second baseman Hannah Adams, LSU outfielder Ciara Briggs and Missouri shortstop Jenna Laird and outfielder Casidy Chaumont made up nearly half the lineup of award winners, with Missouri the only team to place two players on the list. 

Joining Adams and Laird in the infield are Nebraska pitcher Courtney Wallace, Northwestern catcher Jordyn Rudd, Villanova first baseman Victoria Sebastian and Florida State third baseman Sydney Sherrill. 

Michigan’s Kristina Burkhardt joins Briggs and Laird to complete the outfield. 

Prior to the demise of National Pro Fastpitch, Rawlings awarded a single Gold Glove to a professional player each year. Former LSU standout A.J. Andrews won the first ever Gold Glove awarded to a softball player in 2016, while playing for the NPF’s Akron Racers. 

Selections were made by the NFCA Division I All-American Committee. 

Rawling Gold Glove Awards

  • P: Courtney Wallace, Nebraska
  • C: Jordyn Rudd, Northwestern
  • 1B: Victoria Sebastian, Villanova
  • 2B: Hannah Adams, Florida
  • SS: Jenna Laird, Missouri
  • 3B: Sydney Sherrill, Florida State
  • LF: Casidy Chaumont, Missouri
  • CF: Ciara Briggs, LSU
  • RF: Kristina Burkhardt, Michigan

FILED UNDER , , , , , , , ,